The Accountable Blogger

In my blog last Friday, I have written down my thoughts on my blogging experience. One of my realizations is that blogging is not for everyone since it is also a form of teaching, and not everyone is called to teach. James 3:1 says:

1Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.

By God’s grace, I’ve been gifted with teaching. One of the way I practice this gift is, obviously, through blogging. While it is an honor (and joy) for me to blog and teach, I must keep in mind that I will be “judged with greater strictness.”

So in light of James 3:1, I make myself accountable to others about what I blog, or ultimately, what I teach. I have even asked some people (and is still looking for more) to check my blogs regularly, make a fair assessment of them, and even bring to my attention any theological error and misleading or confusing points.

At this point, I’ll be discussing a few more concerns.

On Anonymity

I found some bloggers who are writing anonymously. So is this necessarily sinful? Not at all!

Some have good reasons for it. Some avoid being idolized, while other simply want to avoid the limelight. But in my opinion, anonymous blogging still raises a few concerns.

First, I find blogging anonymously evasive of accountability to the reading public. Think of this. If the anonymous blogger said something wrong, he can easily escape the scrutiny of the public eye without resolving the issue. Why? Because he is anonymous!

Also, I find this cowardly, especially in these times where truth is constantly under attacked. If anonymous bloggers are proud of the truth, shouldn’t they show themselves to the public, not fearing those who are enemies of the truth?

Whenever a reader disagrees with me, particularly with my evangelical convictions, I do not shrink back but even gladly explain and even defend them if needed. I’m honored, and humbled, to be standing up for the truth.

So I ask anonymous bloggers to deeply consider these concerns.

On Personal Study of the Word

Since blogging is also teaching, bloggers can’t afford to neglect their personal study of the Scripture. They must continually give themselves to the Word, deepening their convictions and sharpening their theology. And if they are to be accountable, then they must teach with faithfulness to God’s Word.

I do study the Scripture, but I have to admit I have lots to improve on. Sometimes, in my excitement, I just blog right away, or give more time on blogging, and neglect my personal study. What will I teach then if I don’t increase my learning?

So bloggers, don’t forget to study the Word.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a comment