Professionals, I Salute You

I’m currently having a project management internship at an international I.T. firm as an academic requirement. For the past weeks, this has been my routine: Wake up early, commute on jeeps and trains, stay at the office for 9 hours, ride the bus home, and sleep early. I now have an idea what it means to work at the corporate world.

Reflecting on my experience lately, I have begun admiring professionals. I’m amazed at how they endure their 8-hours-5-days-a-week work, plus the stress that comes with it. Their work requires some form of discipline, and they possess it. (It amazes me because I don’t have that kind of discipline before [now I’m learning it]. And I don’t think I can endure that kind of routine, and that the corporate world is really for me. If ever the Lord puts me in this career path, I believe it won’t be for long).

They endure their work to give themselves and their families a better living. Some of them are nobler, as they work so that they can give to the church, support their pastors and their staff, and send missionaries abroad.

Rooted in my deep appreciation of professionals, here’s an encouragement for them:

22Bondservants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. 23Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. (Colossians 3:22-24, emphasis added)

Even if (Christian) professionals aren’t properly compensated or treated by their companies, assuming they are working heartily as for the Lord and not for men, they will someday be rewarded by the Lord Christ.

It’s my prayer that professionals won’t work “by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord.” Rather, they “work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.” (See my blog Working With All Your Heart for a related discussion).

So to the professionals, from the newly-hired to the near-retiring, from the entry-level to the top executive, I want to say: I salute you!

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a comment