What I Keep in Mind When I Blog

I’ve been blogging since 2008. I praise the Lord for gracing me with the gift of teaching and the skill of writing (or blogging). Lately, the Lord has been impressing on me to mentor bloggers for His renown. I firmly believe that I should be sharing what He has given me. I hope to help Christian bloggers—upcoming, beginner, struggling, or doing well—in any way I can. So I’ll be blogging more on blogging.

To set an example and pace for other bloggers, here’s what I keep in mind when I blog:

1. Exalting

First Corinthians 10:31 says: “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” Everything that a Christian does should be done for the glory of God. That includes blogging. And my blogging.

2. Edifying

Aside from giving glory to God, I make sure that my blogs would build up the readers. After all, spiritual gifts are given for the “common good” (1 Corinthians 12:7). As I blog, I strive to “please [my] neighbor for his good, to build him up” (Romans 15:2).

3. Expository

As much as possible, I explain the verses that I use in my blogs. I don’t want to quote from the Bible just to prove my point. Rather, I want to explain from the Bible and show its point, and from there make my points.

Plus, I want to help readers understand the Bible, because what is at stake is their joy (see Nehemiah 8:12 and my blog The Joy of God’s People in Understanding His Word for a related discussion).

4. Engaging

I don’t merely write only to be read. I also write to make people think. The Lord has blessed us with minds with the capacity to think and grasp greater things. And I believe it must be exercised regularly to achieve its purpose; my blogs aim to do that.

In line with this, I also welcome and embrace disagreements and discussions. It sharpens my mind and the readers’ as well. And hopefully, it leads to a greater understanding, and eventually to a greater love for God and people.

5. Excellent

Of course, I’m writing for the King of kings and the Lord of lords. I don’t want to give God anything that is mediocre. I want to offer Him only what is worthy of Him. He deserves only the best!

Question: Why Not Evangelistic?

So why not evangelistic? It’s simple: The primary target of my blogsite is believers. So when I blog, I have believers in mind. (I don’t neglect the fact the unbelievers could stumble upon my blogsite. And don’t get me wrong. I love sharing the Gospel when given the opportunity. So sometimes, I also write with unbelievers in mind. I write evangelistic blogs, but not too often).

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

