Five Crazy Things I Did in the Name of Love

Valentines happened yesterday. And I thought of the crazy things that I did because I was in love. When I think about them, I can’t help but laugh to myself. It’s about time that I show the soft side of myself in this blog.

So in no particular order (Note: “My crush” refers to different women, not one):

1. I bought my crush an original DVD of an anime as Christmas gift. It’s worth more than a thousand peso. But to make my gift presentable, I bought a stuff toy, placed the DVD between its hands, and put it in a paper bag. (The stuff toy below is the same as the one I gave my crush).

2. I bought two shirts with the same print. I gave the other one to my crush.

3. I actually planned to buy my crush a customized version of her favorite chocolate. Meaning, it has her name on it. I’ll have it sent from the States. Good thing it did not happen.

4. I once planned a hang-out that include new friends (and they are many), only because I want to see my crush and know her more. I was even considering cancelling the whole event at one point (even though many have confirmed attendance), simply because my crush became uncertain of joining us. But she did come. My other friends thought that I organized it for the sake of “fellowship”. (By the way, I’m good friends with them, and of course, they now know the whole story).

5. Last but not the least (and actually, I’m still doing this one), I’m praying for the woman I admire every day. I do this even though I don’t feel like doing so, or feel like giving up on her, or would want to pray for somebody else as an “escape”. Now that’s crazy…at least for me. I always pray that she would continually grow in her love and knowledge of the Lord, becoming a woman after His own heart. If she is really for me, I should begin praying for her maturity, right? I don’t want to be with her while she’s in an immature state.

An Encouragement to Men

Of course, I will not end this blog without an encouragement to men. I know it’s really hard not to do crazy things when in love. It’s highly possible that we even do stupid things (which we should avoid at all costs, of course). But once you found a girl that you consider courting and marrying in the future, instead of doing crazy things towards her, you can begin to pray for her just like I do.

I’m still unsure if the woman I’m praying for is the one for me. But as I seek the will of God, expressing my desire to Him, I find nothing wrong including her in my prayers. If she is for me, then my prayers aren’t in vain. If not, still my prayers aren’t in vain, because she grew in the Lord. After all, that is my prayer for her, right?

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

2 responses to “Five Crazy Things I Did in the Name of Love”

  1. Barbara May Reyes says :

    are you sure she’s still at her immature stage? hmmmm

Leave a Reply

