Zoy Sauce Etc’s Top 5 Blogs of 2011

I have listed below the top 5 blogs of 2011. My criteria for choosing these blogs on my list are as follows: (1) Readership, (2) Reader Interaction (online and personal), and (3) Personal Preference (yes, I have blogs that I feel good about). Some of them are in series, so I listed them as one. Here they are, along with my short comments, starting with the top 5:

5. Should We Disciple Older People? – This blog is a product of a fruitful, or even heated, discussion among friends. I followed it up with the blog What If I’m Being Discipled by A Younger Person? When I posted these blogs, it garnered attention, sparked conversations online and personal, and drew feedbacks. Many people learned from these blogs, including myself. When my insight was sharpened by the conversations I had, I concluded the discussions with the blog The Disciple-Maker: First and Foremost Grounded on the Word.

4. Singleness, Courtship, and the Sovereignty of God – This is my blog on my journey as a young adult. While I have fears with regards to my love life, the sovereignty of God comforts me. I love this blog because I understood how His sovereignty (theology) and my love life (practical living) are interwoven.

3. What Lucky Me Got Right: Young Men, Waiting, and Pre-Marital Sex – This is my commentary on a Lucky Me (instant noodles brand) commercial on teenagers, waiting, and pre-marital sex. The commercial actually promotes family mealtime. But the discussion revolved around the issue on young men having sexual relations before marriage.

2. If Christ Ain’t Resurrect, Then We Wasted Our Lives: A Post-Easter Blog – This is so dear to my heart. I have long ago understood the doctrine of resurrection, but never embraced its implications until last year. It’s of infinite importance that this doctrine should be true. Else, we have wasted my life. I don’t want a wasted life!

1. Why T.V. Series “100 Days to Heaven” Promotes Bad Theology – This has been my most controversial blog yet. It was read by many, and it garnered a few comments, both positive and negative. I posted this on May, but it was still being read at the latter parts of the year. I wrote 2 follow-up blogs, What’s So Bad About the Theology Behind “100 Days to Heaven” and Coney Reyes: A Reflection of Filipino Evangelicals’ Lack of Discernment? To clarify my thoughts on my Coney Reyes blog, I wrote Some Thoughts on My Coney Reyes Blog.

Special Mention:

Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris – This review of the book Dug Down Deep was once viewed by Joshua Harris himself, and linked it in his blogsite. I never thought that the author of the book I reviewed will be read by the author himself (just imagine how frightening that is!). But I’m both humbled and honored.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

