What I Do Every Holiday Season

The past days, I attended a few gatherings to celebrate Christmas. I think this is a good opportunity to share with you what happened the previous days (or better yet, what I’ve been doing every holiday season, at least for the past 5 years).

I don’t live with my family. So every 24th of December, I go home to join my family and some relatives for Noche Buena, or Christmas Eve dinner. We just have a simple feast, usually consisting of pasta and chicken (This year, it was Lechon Manok. And I ate a lot of it).

On the Christmas day itself, I join my relatives from the mother side for a reunion. This reunion usually consists of a big dinner (lots of food!), a few games, videoke, and gift giving. I also drink red wine and other alcoholic drinks (See my blogs On Alcohol: My Personal Stand and Practice and On Alcohol: Possible Dangers for a related discussion). Last Sunday, I paired it with grilled pork ribs and salmon sashimi. Yummy!

The day after Christmas, I attend another reunion, this time with the relatives from the father side. Again, there are lots of food, games, videoke, and gift-giving (There are lots of gifts, since my relatives are so many). Also on this day, we remember the birthday of our grandfather.

Before the New Year’s Eve come, I usually go out with friends for dinner and coffee. These are good times that I truly cherish.

On the New Year’s Eve, I again join my family for Media Noche, or midnight meal. We don’t welcome the New Year with fire crackers anymore, as we did years ago. We just watch the T.V. for concerts and countdown.

That’s what I do every holiday season. It’s simple compared to others. But I enjoy these times.

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

