Holy Hip Hop: When Rap Songs Enter the Christian Music Scene

I’ve been surfing through YouTube in search of Christian rap songs. Hip hop is my “first love” when it comes to music genre, so Christian rap songs are particularly interesting to me. In my search, I found lots of good rap songs. I call them good not only because of the beats and the fast mouths, but also because of its biblically-grounded, theologically-informed, gospel-centered, and God-exalting lyrics.

One of my favorite rappers is Lecrae. His raps always move me, even better than other contemporary Christian songs do. My favorite raps from him include Don’t Waste Your Life:

And Prayin’ for You:

Other rappers that I enjoy listening to include Curtis Allen (aka Voice), who rapped about the Westminster Catechism and even featured scholar D.A. Carson, and only Recently, Shai Linne, who rapped about expository preaching.

Westminster Catechism Rap by Voice (feat. D.A. Carson):

Expository Preaching by Shai Linne:

Tags: , , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

3 responses to “Holy Hip Hop: When Rap Songs Enter the Christian Music Scene”

  1. Nadia says :

    Thank you so much for sharing! I really do appreciate it. πŸ™‚ I’m a fan of hip hop and r&b too, but I’ve been having a hard time looking for christian songs in that genre.

  2. Eleanor Alzaga says :

    i thought rnb or hiphop cant enter the scene with christian music..so i never listen to any hiphop chirstian music at all.but its all clear to me now πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

