Voices of the Church (11/30/11): What Do You Do to Ease the Pain of Waiting?

I’ll be doing an experiment. This blog is the first one under the segment called Voices of the Church (VOTC). In this segment, I’ll be posting a question and will be soliciting ideas and opinions from readers. And after some time (2-3 weeks?), I’ll be compiling the best contributions and perhaps make an evaluation of it. If this is successful, there’s a big chance I’ll continue the segment.

And please SHARE this blog to your friends. Link it in Facebook, Twitter, etc. The more contributors, the better!


Last week, I blogged on the topic of waiting. I argued that God should be the object of all our waiting. So the first question for the first VOTC is:

What do you do to ease the pain of waiting?


Things to keep in mind:
Waiting here refers to any area of your life where you are doing it
-You are highly encouraged to give practical steps (reading the Bible, serving in a ministry, etc.)
-You may share a past or current experience, but make it brief
-And of course, you may share verses that greatly helped you in your waiting

Commenting Guidelines
-Your comment will be subject to moderation.
-Use English, so even foreigners can join the discussion.
-One-liner comments will hardly be approved. I’m sure you can do better than that.
-Feel free to discuss with other contributors. And of course, enjoy the discussion!

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

8 responses to “Voices of the Church (11/30/11): What Do You Do to Ease the Pain of Waiting?”

  1. Tim Savet says :

    To ease the pain of waiting, I honestly talk to God to give the patience and endurance of waiting. There are many instances before in my life wherein I will always be waiting, whether it’s something big or simple. The moment that I get tired of waiting, I just try to remind myself every time that Jesus, the Lord of all hosts, waited 13 years for me to finally have Him in my life, how much more should I wait for something/someone that He had already promised that will come?

  2. Caitlin Gochuico says :

    First of all, seek the Lord. That’s one of the ways to ease the pain of waiting. Because as long as you give yourself, your time and your heart to the Lord, you will be entirely secure in Him. Being secure in the Lord is a personal decision. While doing this, being intimate with the Lord, be busy with what God wants you to do. Focus on your studies, your family, your friends and your ministry. Enjoy life as it is. Take off your mind from things that makes you impatient and remember that God’s perfect timing will come. 🙂

    -My answer in what i do to ease the pain of waiting 🙂

  3. Nicole Obligacion says :

    I am actually waiting for something right now and honestly, it’s a struggle. However, to ease the pain of waiting, I constantly talk to God about it. For the past 4 years, I found it helpful and encouraging to write on my journal my prayers, reflection on God’s word and even random personal experiences (which include waiting). 🙂 I guess writing down these things help me acknowledge my struggle, surrender it to God, and trust while waiting on Him. I also read my old journal entries to remind me of God’s faithfulness in my life and His attributes/characteristics (Creator, Sovereign, Savior, Lover, etc.). Also, because I love music, I listen (and sing along) to different Contemporary Christian songs. This greatly impacts my life as I am able to focus on God as I wait and be reminded of promises in His word through the lyrics and melodies of the songs.

    In addition, I try my best to be accountable to my mentor and other accountability partners. They are my prayer warriors and they encourage me to focus on God as I wait. Moreover, I try my best to develop other skills and my character as I wait on the Lord. The following are some examples: working harder in school/work, spending quality time with family and friends, reading other Christian books, doing what I love (cooking, baking, playing musical instruments, singing), investing in leading my own group of girls, etc. I do these because being idle would only make things worse (e.g. being unproductive, dwell on thoughts that may not help me pursue waiting on Him, etc.)

    Lastly, as I wait, I try my best to always have a grateful heart, to believe that whatever happens, God will always be good, He will always love me, and He is sovereign and in-control of everything.

    Here are some of the Bible verses that encourage me: Proverbs 3:5-6, Psalm 5:3, Psalm 18:30, Romans 8:28, Galatians 5:22, Colossians 4:2

  4. Pauee Castro says :

    Usually, before anything else, I try to make sure I step back from the situation to look at things from different angles. I do this to avoid jumping to wrong conclusions and assumptions. This helps me absorb the situation, and helps me make clear action plans.

    To ease the pain of waiting, I remind myself that God is for me and He wants the best for me. With this in mind, I become confident that I can trust Him with everything and that I won’t go through the waiting process alone. I, then, spend time with Him through prayer, reading the Bible and Christian books, talking to my dgroup and other Christians, listening to Christian podcasts and Christian songs. I also read books, watch movies, spend time with other people, travel or eat out. I even try out new things if necessary. Actively waiting for something helps me prepare for what I’m waiting for.

    When I think of waiting, I think about the pottery pieces that go through the fire. It may be excruciating but it makes the pottery pieces stronger and better.

  5. Barbara May Reyes says :

    just like nicole, i am also waiting for something right now.and honestly, it’s also a struggle for me. its hard. really hard. painful? yes it is. what do i do? most practically is to pray, pray and pray. pray without ceasing as 1 Thessalonians 5:17 said. seeking Him more than seeking His will. second, to do something about what i am praying for. and last, fellowship and asking for counsel of my brothers and sisters in Christ helps me a lot.

    praise God for this enzo because it helped me evaluate how am i going in this time of waiting.im asking myself now, what else i can do.

  6. adrian says :

    to start with, seek the God above all else. to ease the pain, i always talk with Jesus because i know that He cares for me and to seek what His plans for me. being secure in the Lord, i also remind myself of God’s promises. it is by our decision whether to focus on the things that we are waiting for or to give our complete attention to the omnipotent and omniscient God who gives what he knows that would be best for us. and i choose to devote myself to Him.

    Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;
    therefore he will rise up to show you compassion.
    For the LORD is a God of justice.
    Blessed are all who wait for him! -Isaiah 30:18

    it is clearly written that God wants to be gracious to us. 🙂

    i also serve in the ministry, get discipled, and disciple people. so basically, trust God in every area of your life and do the things that you can do and serve where you can serve. 🙂

  7. Jezreel Buising says :

    Waiting. Waiting.

    Hmm. Well, waiting is the one of the hardest things to do- for me huh? I don’t like waiting. No one likes to wait. “lalo na pag gusto mo talaga makuha yung something/someone?” It says in Revelation, “Behold, I am coming soon.’” It may not seem like it, but in light of eternity, it’s soon. Why does God make us wait? If he can do anything and if he’s all-loving, bakit kelangan natin maghintay? What I know is, what God does in us while we wait is as important as what it is we’re waiting for. 🙂 And I realized, times of waiting in the Lord can be some of the most precious moments in your life. As in!

    But waiting kase requires a trusting heart talaga e. I do trust God. And surrender my plans to Him everytime. Talking to christian friends, listening to christian music, etc. And praying of course, practical ways– the single most important activity for people waiting on God is prayer. For me it is the primary form that waiting on God takes. Sobrang amazing ng prayer! I remember sa TeamOne “Obeying God is painful but always worth it.” Then I replaced it sa GBS message ko– “Waiting is painful, but always worth it.” 🙂

    I’ll just share my life verse. Hehe 🙂

    Even youths will faint and be weary and the young will fall exhausted. There is a limit to the strength of the strongest human being. “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings like eagles. They shall run and not grow weary. They shall walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:30-31).”

  8. janaldrinramos says :

    To ease the pain of waiting, I turn back to the reason for waiting. God usually reminds me why He makes me wait. I look at His faithfulness by looking at my journal and see the times I grew from waiting and the consequences of not waiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

