Singleness, Courtship, and the Sovereignty of God

I now find myself enjoying blogging on topics about the single or young adult life. Last Monday, I blogged about (believing) singles who fall in love with unbelievers, exhorting them to surround themselves with godly men and women. I guess I’ll be blogging more on the single life. And now, I am attempting to blog another entry, but this time it is more personal. Anyway… 

I’m already 22, so I’m starting a new journey in my life—the journey as a young adult. I know that pretty soon (but probably not too soon), I’ll be dating, and courting, and hopefully marrying my future spouse, given that it is the Lord’s will that I marry. The years ahead will be exciting.

But it is not without fears. As a single man, I find myself battling a couple of fears. One of those fears is that I will live the rest of my life as a single. I deeply desire that I marry. I hope to spend the rest of my life with a spouse to whom I will share the overflow of my satisfaction in God with. I want to be with a woman who will do life and ministry with me. But what if God’s plan for my life is not marriage but singleness? (Note: I’m not in any way saying that singleness isn’t desirable. I’m only being honest of my deep desire for marriage).

The other fear is that the woman I truly admire will be courted by someone else. I can’t help but ask myself these questions: What if in the process of praying and waiting, another guy enters the scene, courts the lady, and they both end up in one another’s arms? Will the season of extended praying and waiting be in vain? Is there any gain in delaying my plans towards the woman?

Sometimes, or most of the times, I find myself a prisoner to these fears, emotionally and mentally brought down low.

But I remember the sovereignty of God.

Yes, the sovereignty of God!

He is sovereign. He is in control of my life. He directs that “all things work together for good” (Romans 8:28).

God is working for my good. He has a plan for my life. None of his plans or purposes can be thwarted (Job 42:2). It stands firm forever (Psalm 33:11; see also Proverbs 19:21).

And since God is working for my good, then His plans for me are good. Just as He had plans for the Israelites, “plans for welfare and not for evil, to give [them] future and a hope” (Jeremiah 29:11), so it is with me.

Since God is sovereign, working for my good, and has a plan for me, therefore I will “Trust in the LORD with all [my] heart” (Proverbs 3:5). And I will “Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let [my] heart take courage” (Psalm 27:14). And I will all the more delight in Him (Psalm 37:4) and in doing His will (Psalm 40:8).

So if in His sovereign plan He chooses that I remain single than get married, may His will be done. He is sovereign! And if in His sovereign plan, the woman that I deeply admire fall into the arms of another than mine, may His will be done. He is sovereign!

The Lord is sovereign. He is in control of my single years. He is in charge of my love life. He is sovereign, so may His will be done.

Tags: , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

One response to “Singleness, Courtship, and the Sovereignty of God”

  1. Roel Balita says :

    Fear Number 2!!! hahaha :>

    God knows BEST. whatever His will is, it is for the BEST. Jeremiah 29:11 and Romans 8:28 says it. 😀

Leave a Reply

