What Do I Think of “Jesus, My Lover” Songs

I really love to sing songs to the Lord, even dancing when it is fast beat, or lifting hands when it is slow. It does prepare my heart for worship. Some even elicit strong emotions.

Songs that bring out these emotions are almost always sung in personal and corporate worship. Typically, these are the songs with the “Jesus, My Lover” theme. In response to the love of Christ, songs with “Jesus, I Love You” theme are also sung.

So what do I think of “Jesus, My Lover” and “Jesus, I Love You” songs?

There’s really nothing wrong with these songs. But if we limit ourselves to these, there would be a problem. And the problem? It is this: We might have an incomplete view of who God is.

It is true that Jesus is our lover and in response, we are to love Him back. But we must not forget that He is also holy and just. Our response should be in awe, and reverence, and honor, and praise. We must give the glory due Him.

John 4:24 says:

24God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.” (Emphasis added)

If we are to worship God in truth, then we must worship Him for who He is. We must worship Him not only for being loving, or being our lover, but also for being holy and just, worthy of honor and glory. We must worship not with an incomplete view, but with a complete one.

So let us not limit ourselves to “Jesus, My Lover” songs, or to “Jesus, I Love You” songs. Let us also sing “Holy is the Lord” songs, or “God, Glorify Thy Name” songs. (By the way, I’m not saying that the songs of the former type have no place in personal and corporate worship. Rather, I want to strike a balance between the two types).

Here are some songs of the latter type that I enjoy singing:

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

