One Retreat (Rewind)

I dedicate this blog to all One Retreat campers.

Last weekend, I went to another retreat for college students. It’s entitled One and it was held at CCT Tagaytay Retreat and Training Center. More than 400 students coming from different colleges and universities came together to worship the one true God.

The campers had 3 days jampacked with learning, discussions, activities, and friendships. Those who went for the first time learned about the love of God, the gravity of sin, and the power of the cross, while those who have been attending retreat learned about the lordship of Christ, submission to authorities, waiting for the future spouse, and giving of oneself to a mission.

At the last day of the retreat, more than 80 campers got baptized, declaring their allegiance to the Lord Jesus.

I got to facilitate my own breakout group as well. I was joined by more than 70 fellow breakout leaders, and most of them were leading for the first time.

Three men were entrusted to my care. Their names are James, J.R., and Raph. I’m thankful that the Lord helped me explain to them the Gospel. Having understood and believed the Gospel, all of them got baptized, showing the world that they’ll follow Jesus forever.

With more than 400 students in the retreat, I find it hard meeting new friends. Nevertheless, I still met a few new friends and I hope that I’ll cherish them forever.

My Prayer

Dear Lord,

I want to thank You for past weekend. You have caused Your Name to be hallowed in the lives of those who went to the retreat, campers and volunteers alike.

I thank You for helping us, breakout leaders to first-timers, explain the Gospel to those You have entrusted to our care. We are humbled that you used clay pots to display Your power. It’s my prayer that You will continue to work in the lives of those who placed their faith in You. And I also thank You for our fellow leaders who facilitated breakout groups of old-timers. I pray that the men and women of their breakout groups will always submit to Your lordship and to their authorities, will pursue holiness in their single years as they wait for their spouses, and will discern their mission in life.

I’m also grateful for more than 80 campers who got baptized and declared that they’ll follow You forever. I ask the You protect them from the evil one. I believe that You are faithful to finish the good work you began in them.

I’m bursting with gladness with the men you have entrusted to my care. I thank You for James, J.R., and Raph, because You opened their eyes that they may see the gospel of the glory of Christ. I ask that You bless them in every aspect of life.

And finally, I thank You for the new (as well as old) friends I had fellowship with. As always, I plead that You help me cherish them forever.

Now that we’re back in Manila (or in our respective provinces), I acknowledge that life won’t be easy on us. Satan hates You, and he hates us as well. He will do whatever it takes to hurt us. But I ask that You protect us from him, that we may do the work You have prepared for us, may it be in our homes or in our schools.

To You be all the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Photos by Safelight Ministry, James Cabrera, and Vijay Navani.

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

One response to “One Retreat (Rewind)”

  1. Barbs says :

    Glory to God! 😀

Leave a Reply

