Young Man, Before You Give Your Life to a Woman, Give Your Life to Other Men First

I’m dedicating this blog to my beloved disciples. It’s my prayer that they’ll give their lives to other men.

When I say that men should give their lives to other men, I mean that they disciple other men (see Matthew 28:19-20). And why do I want them to disciple?

In my experience in disciple-making, I would say that there are certain traits that a disciple-maker must possess. Actually, he will only possess them along the way. I have enumerated five of them:

1. Devotion. Or commitment. Or single-mindedness. Call it whatever you want. The Great Commission requires devotion, even sacrifice. The apostle Paul had this mindset:

24But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God. (Acts 20:24)

2. A Sense of Responsibility. Being a disciple-maker entails lots of responsibilities, big and small alike. The big ones include setting aside a day to study a passage in the Bible and teach it to my disciples in our weekly meetings. While the small ones include announcing our weekly meetings. I have to admit that I sometimes fail in doing my responsibilities. But the Lord is helping me in this area.

3. Leadership. Okay, there are lots of things I can say about this. Service. Integrity. Excellence. So on and so forth. For men, this is really important.

4. Humility and Patience. Making disciples isn’t easy. A disciple-maker’s efforts are in vain if he thinks he causes the growth in his disciples. Only God can cause the growth (1 Corinthians 3:6); this requires humility.

And it requires patience that this growth does not happen overnight. It may happen in months, even years!

5. Dependence on God. Given the disciple-making isn’t easy, the disciple-maker would really have to depend on the Lord Jesus. And he can depend on Him, for He promises:

20…And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)

There are other things I have learned in disciple-making. But I would have to settle with these five.

Young man, you would want to have these characteristics before you court a girl, wouldn’t you?

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

3 responses to “Young Man, Before You Give Your Life to a Woman, Give Your Life to Other Men First”

  1. chosenrebel says :

    Great post brother. Keep making disciples and encouraging others to do the same. If you are ever interested in planting a church, contact me. I would love to help in anyway that i can.

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Thank you for the comment and encouragement, Marty. I thought of planting a church in the future (but I still believe that I have a long way to go). It’s very kind of you to offer your help.

      • chosenrebel says :

        We all have a long way to go but it is not to early to think and pray and plan. Check out RadicalCHURCHplanting.com when you get a chance. Identifying and encouraging and training and equipping the men who will take the gospel to the next generation and beyond is one of the most important things I could do. God’s best to you brother.

Leave a Reply

