What My Dengue Fever and Steve Jobs Reminded Me

Last Monday, I was admitted to the hospital due to a suspected Dengue fever. My platelet count was below the normal level and it kept falling as days go by. Fortunately, it didn’t reach to critical levels. It went up and I was discharged from the hospital Friday noon.

While at the hospital, I was unaware of the latest news. A friend who visited me told me that Steve Jobs already passed away. Jobs was the genius behind the iPod, iPhone, iPad, and other Apple products.

My fever and Jobs reminded me of this: Life is indeed short.

I acknowledged that the Lord Jesus is sovereign over my body. He owns my body and He may do whatever He wants with it. If He chooses to remove all the platelets in my body and take my life away, He may do so.

And if He chooses to take Jobs’ life away at age 56, He may do so…and He just did.

The Bible tells us:

5Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath! 6Surely a man goes about as a shadow! Surely for nothing they are in turmoil; man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather! (Psalm 39:5-6, emphases added)

14…What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. (James 4:14, emphases added)

A few handbreaths, nothing, mere breath, shadow, mist—this is how the Bible describes the brevity of life. So let’s take heed the psalmists’ counsel:

4“O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am! (Psalm 39:4)

12So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)

Life is short. In light of this, we must live wisely, making the most of each day, living for the glory of God.

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

