As Long as I’m Not Sinning, I’ll Be Fine. Really?

I’ve encountered a lot of Christians who have lost their passion for the Lord. They were once on fire for God but suddenly lost the flame. Some of them don’t understand why it happened (I don’t get it either). But they just lost it.

These Christians aren’t reading their Bibles and they do not talk to the Lord in prayer. But they aren’t living in obvious sin as well. Their lives seem to be okay, and this adds to the mystery.

I guess as long as they’re not living in sin, they’ll be fine. But this made me ask: Really? Aren’t they living in sin?

I’m reminded of the church in Laodicea (Revelation 3:14-22). Jesus says to them:

15“‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! (v.15)

Christians who lost their passion for the Lord rightly fits this description: They are neither cold nor hot. They aren’t in opposition to the Lord, nor are they passionate for Him. So what are they? They are lukewarm:

16So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. (v.16)

When we go to a coffee shop, we only order either of the two: Hot or cold. We enjoy steaming-hot coffee, or chilled frappes and iced drinks. But we don’t enjoy lukewarm coffee. I experienced drinking one, and I almost spitted it out of my mouth. It doesn’t taste good.

Lukewarm Christians (if there is such a thing) makes Jesus sick to the stomach. He wishes they were either hot or cold. But they’re in between. So what’s Jesus going to do with them? He will spit them out of His mouth. Yikes!

These Christians claim that they are rich, prosperous, and have no need for anything (v.17). That’s it! Lukewarm people believe that they need nothing. So they think they’ll do fine.

But Jesus says that they are “wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked” (v.17). I think they’re the neediest people of all.

So what do these people need to do? Jesus says:

20“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me” (v.20)

He’s just out there, knocking at the door of their hearts. If they’ll let Him enter, He will come in and eat with him, and enjoy a sweet fellowship with him.

It’s my prayer that these lukewarm people will again enjoy the sweet fellowship they once had with Jesus, that they will be passionate for Him again. It’s also my prayer that all of us, including myself, will be spared from the deadly sting of lukewarmness.

Tags: , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

