In a Unique Position

I’m still a student.

Yes, you heard me right. I’m staying longer than usual. Every time people ask if I have already graduated, I always wanted to shrink back. I’m ashamed of it.

I’ve been studying since 2006 and I should’ve graduated last year. As far as I’m concerned, I’ve been faithful in my schooling, always studying diligently and excellently. But circumstances weren’t easy on me. Honestly, I really do not understand why the Lord hasn’t yet allowed me to graduate.

I always thought that as long as I’m a student, I will always be limited with what I can do. In fact, I can already imagine what things, or greater things, I can do if only I’m a graduate. With this mindset, I also thought that God is limited as to how He can use me.

But wait. Didn’t He put me in this position? Am I not in a unique position for God to use me mightily?

I’m reminded of one of my favorite characters in the Bible—Nehemiah. Nehemiah had a vision to rebuild Jerusalem’s walls. It also happened that he was a cupbearer (someone who tastes the food of the king for inspection), which means he had direct access to the king and he enjoyed his trust.

Now, if there is one person who can influence the king into rebuilding the walls, it has to be Nehemiah. I believe that no one else can influence the king better than him. He was in a unique position to do something about the vision he received from God. Again, his position was unique.

Here an illustration (though I believe it’s imperfect; I hope it still helps). A student can be a salt and light to his fellow students. He is in a unique position to do that. An employee can’t do that (or at least he can’t do it as effectively as the student can); only the student can.

Likewise, an employee of a certain company can be God’s instrument in his workplace. He is also in a unique position to be that. A student, or an employee of another company, or a person from a different field, can’t do that (or again, with the same effectiveness); only the employee can.

There are things that I can do while I’m still a student, and there are things that I cannot do if I’m already a graduate. I can be a salt and light to the students of my school or of my campus ministry, but I cannot continue doing so (and I have to add: with past effectiveness) when I’m already a graduate.

Remember this: You are in a unique position to be used mightily by God. So wherever you are, whatever you are doing, embrace your position. No one else can do it best but you.

May God use me mightily while I’m still a student. He has placed me in this unique position. 

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

