To Be Lionhearted and Lamblike: My Prayer for Every Man

There are several reasons why I wrote this blog.

First, as a disciple of Jesus, I realized that I am still far from becoming lionhearted and lamblike (I will explain these terms later). So this blog shall serve as a reminder to me as well as to every man who will read this.

Second, as a discipler, I felt that I haven’t been guiding my disciples into the path of lionheartedness and lamblikeness. I have to make adjustments.

Lastly, I want to honor the men whom the Lord used to mold me into the person I now am. Men who continually give their lives to me, who gave me opportunities of serving the Lord, who are a source of joy to me. Men whose counsel lit a lamp for my feet, whose encouragement lifted up my spirit, whose prayers kept me strong, whose example set a pattern for my living, whose rebuke helped me from straying away, and whose exhortation shake the core of my being. It is my prayer that they will become what I call lionhearted and lamblike.

So why lionhearted and lamblike? I was inspired by John Piper:

The reason I am using the title “Lionhearted and Lamblike” to refer to the Christian husband as head of his wife is because the husband is called to lead like Jesus who is the Lion of Judah (Revelation 5:5) and the Lamb of God (Revelation 5:6)—he was lionhearted and lamblike, strong and meek, tough and tender, aggressive and responsive, bold and brokenhearted. He sets the pattern for manhood.1 (Emphasis added)

By the way, I would also like to honor the pastors and teachers who have shaped my life and theology, and helped me become Christ-like. One of them is John Piper, whose teachings and ministry are dominant influences in my life, ministry, and theology. Another is John MacArthur, whose commitment to the faithful exposition of the Bible serves as a model in my preaching. And another one is my senior pastor, Peter Tan-Chi, whose teachings continually move me and whose example, especially as a father, constantly inspire me. I thank God for these lionhearted and lamblike men who faithfully shepherds His people. Anyway…

That’s it! Jesus sets men the pattern for manhood. Just like Him, men must be “strong and meek, tough and tender, aggressive and responsive, bold and brokenhearted.”

So I’m calling all men—single or married, young or old—to follow Jesus’ pattern for manhood. It’s my prayer that every man, including myself, will be lionhearted and lamblike.


1http://www.desiringgod.org/resource-library/sermons/lionhearted-and-lamblike-the-christian-husband-as-head-part-2

Tags: , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

