The Blogger with A Little Readership: Reflections on My Blogging Journey

I’ve been reflecting on my journey as a blogger. I started blogging in 2008, and Multiply was my medium. Soon, there was a shift from Multiply to Facebook. When Multiply users flocked to Facebook, I decided to sign-up for a WordPress account. This was on 2010.

While everyone is already on Facebook, I can only be found in WordPress and Twitter. Some of my friends were encouraging me to sign-up for an account on the most popular social networking site. They were encouraging me to link my blogsite in Facebook and thus garner readership. Of course, along with other factors I considered, I was hesitant to get an account.

I enjoyed blogging even if I have a low readership. I’m not really concerned about increasing my blogsite’s readership or promoting it to people; I’m content with the thought that I get to blog my thoughts and hopefully glorify the Lord with it. I just wanted to be a low-profile blogger, and that’s all! This is why I’m hesitant to get a Facebook account.

Facebook Presence

But early this year, because I was required for my school, I signed-up for a Facebook account. Soon, I linked my blogs, maximizing the opportunity. And I have to say that the readership somehow increased.

I have to say that Facebook did help in promoting my blogs. But I realized that even with my Facebook presence, and after getting quoted by Joshua Harris, and after blogging posts that I expected to become controversial, I’m still a blogger with a little readership.

Sometimes I’m tempted to lessen my blogging activity or quit blogging altogether. I sometimes say to myself, “No one is reading my blogs. So what’s the use?”

But I get surprised whenever people tell me that they’re reading my blogs and get blessed. When I once asked someone how long he has been following my blogs, he answered that he’s been doing so for a long time. So without my knowledge, he’s been a reader of my blogs, and was joined by many “secret” others.

This was encouraging to me. I may not know who’s reading my blogs, but definitely there are few, if not many, reading them. That’s why I keep on blogging in spite the low readership.

Exhortation

A blogger’s success relies heavily on readership and reader interaction. While this is true, I’d like to believe there is one more important factor, especially for the Christian blogger.

I may not have a strong following, but I must keep in mind the One I am following—the Lord Jesus Christ. My primary aim as I blog is to please Him and glorify Him.

10For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ. (Galatians 1:10)

31So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. (1 Corinthians 10:31)

So I want to encourage (Christian) bloggers to keep on blogging for the glory of God even in spite of the low readership. After all, we are blogging chiefly for Him.

I’m still a blogger with a little readership, but I’m a blogger devoted to make Jesus famous! With this in mind, I guess I’m just going to blog as long as I can.

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

