She Must Love Christ More Than Me: Finding a Partner who is a True Follower of Jesus

Two weeks ago, I asked a group of female friends about the characteristics they are looking for in men. One of them answered, “He must love God more than me.”

I have to admit that I find her answer noble. Yet, I wasn’t satisfied. I wanted to hear other answers. Her answer had become a cliche in my youth ministry. Ask the people and they’ll almost always give you the same answer (at least for the females).

But thinking it through, I realized that there’s a deep theology in the “cliche.” I was reminded of Matthew 10:37:

37Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. (Emphasis added)

The verse speaks of loving Jesus more than relatives. I also take this verse as loving Jesus more than anyone else. Anyone who loves somebody else more than Jesus is not worthy of Him.

The point is this: A true disciple of Jesus will love Him more than anyone else. So if my female friends wanted a guy who “loves Jesus more than them,” it only means that they are looking for a partner who is a true disciple of Jesus.

As I begin my life journey in my twenties, I find it inevitable that I will soon pursue a woman whom I will share my life with. (Of course, the Lord may want me to live as a single and so be more devoted to His ministry. Though diffcult to accept, I must be open to that path, for it will lead to the fullest joy). So I have made a resolve only to look for a woman who “loves Jesus more than me”—a woman who is a true disciple of the Lord Jesus.

Tags: , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

