Finding Comfort during the Loss of a Loved One to Sickness

Just last week, I visited the wake of my friend, Jeremiah Medalla (1991-2011). For the past few years, he has been battling cancer. Obviously, he used this event in his life to make God shine even brighter. At a young tender age of twenty, He finally went home to the Father. I will miss this guy.

I can’t help but remember my own father. Since 2002 or 2003, he had been suffering the complications of diabetes. His eyes were eventually affected, making him almost blind, and his kidneys ceased to function soon. In 2006, his transplanted kidney began to fail, and his blood was found to have an infection.

One day at May of the same year, my dad was rushed to the hospital and was eventually admitted to the intensive care unit. By evening of the very next day, after witnessing first-hand the efforts of the nurses to revive my dad and it was to no avail, he finally went home to the Lord. It was tragic.

So where did I find comfort during those days of loss and mourning? Here are some thoughts:

1. I know that my dad will spend eternity with God. John 3:16 says that “whoever believes in [Jesus] should not perish but have eternal life.” My dad was a firm believer until the very end of his life. He has eternal life in Christ Jesus.

2. I also know that he is in heaven now. Heaven is a place where there are no more tears and “death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away” (Revelation 21:4). I’d rather have him join the Lord in heaven, than see him live yet suffer horribly here on earth.

3. I shall see him soon.

These thoughts greatly comforted me during those days.

Tags: , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

