Coney Reyes: A Reflection of Filipino Evangelicals’ Lack of Discernment?

Ms. Coney Reyes is one of the personalities I admire in the Philippine entertainment industry. I admire her not only for her acting, but also for her courage to profess her evangelical convictions in the midst of a difficult industry. However, I’m skeptical towards her latest T.V. series in ABS-CBN 100 Days to Heaven (see my blogs Why T.V. Series “100 Days to Heaven” Promotes Bad Theology and What’s So Bad About the Theology Behind “100 Days to Heaven” for background).

This made me ask some questions. Did Coney Reyes consider the theology behind the T.V. series? Was she able to discern the messy theology behind it? More importantly, is she a reflection of a larger problem, namely the lack of discernment among her local church, and in a larger scale, among Filipino evangelicals?

I’m absolutely clueless about the first two questions. As for the last one, I hope this is not true. But if it is, then we have a serious problem. If we lack discernment, then we are like children, “children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes” (Ephesians 4:14). We can’t afford to lose this spiritual battle.

Let’s pray for Coney Reyes. After all, she is an influential figure in the entertainment industry. And let’s also pray for the Filipino evangelical community, as well as for evangelicals worldwide. The Church is in a spiritual warfare.

By the way, I’ll be blogging on discernment anytime soon. So keep in touch.

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

5 responses to “Coney Reyes: A Reflection of Filipino Evangelicals’ Lack of Discernment?”

  1. Kevin says :

    Bro:

    1. You’re generalizing too much on your second point; you not need to do such. For discernment (or lack of it) is to be looked upon with an ‘absolute’ perspective.

    2. She does not wholly represent her local church. Medyo judgmental yun and unfair on that church.

    3. And I think the argument on your third question would be more credible if you cited at least one more example in the Philippine context. Kumbaga sa journalism, you need at least two sources to make a story.

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Hi Kevin.

      Thank you for your comment. I knew you would take notice of this post.

      Anyway

      1. For my second point, which is connected to the first point, I have made clear that “I’m absolutely clueless…” So I’m not in any way jumping to conclusions. (I’m making this clear because this blog post might send a wrong message). In fact, if I will be blessed with an opportunity, I’d like to hear from Ms. Coney Reyes herself.

      2. I’m not being judgmental and unfair to her local church. In fact, I have written (and I hope you did not overlook this), “and in a larger scale, among Filipino evangelicals.” This means that our local church is also included, as well as numerous others. I’m addressing an issue that might be present in the Filipino evangelical community, not just in Ms. Coney Reyes’ local church. (By the way, please take note of the word “might”. And refer to the next point).

      3. Yes, I agree. However, there are no researches or surveys done regarding this issue (or I’m just ignorant). Moreover, and as far as I know, there are no Christian research groups that could conduct these studies (although non-evangelicals could do it). How I wish there are, just like in the States.

  2. Kevin says :

    Omit “judgmental”; it’s quite strong of a word. Replace it with “assuming”. 🙂 Hehe.

  3. Kevin says :

    1) May erratum ulit ako: On point number one, I was referring to the third question, not the second. Sarreh. 🙂

    2) “I’m addressing an issue that might be present in the Filipino evangelical community, not just in Ms. Coney Reyes’ local church.”

    Your use of the word ‘might’ would lead me to think that such inquiry is merely an assumption. But how you asked the third question gave off the impression that you’ve already presented a stand—which you actually did by saying that you “hope [the situation you’ve presented] is not true.”

    3) To make such study would be interesting, but incredibly subjective (and also potentially biased). A means must be created to ‘materialize’ or quantify discernment.

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Thank you for the conversation, Kevin.

      2. I am aware that my use of the word “might” will lead readers to think that I’m just assuming. So forgive me for the lack of basis. That’s why I REALLY wish that there are studies done on this issue.

      But I want to make a point. Must we wait until a study is conducted to act upon an issue? Must we wait until all our “assumptions” (as you have claimed that I already did) turn into facts before we move?

      I believe that it’s better to think or ASSUME that the problem is already present and be moved with a sense of urgency and alertness, THAN wait for facts to be laid out and then act upon it. It may be too late if we are to choose the latter.

      SO YES, I’m making a stand as if the problem is already present. After all, we are living in the last days, and I will not be at all surprised if the problem will be proven anytime in the future.

      First Peter 5:8 tells us to be watchful, for “[our] adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” We don’t want to be caught off-guard by the Devil. It’s better to be proactive than reactive.

      Once and for all, I want to make this clear: This blog post was written not to pass judgment on a local church and on the entire Filipino evangelical community, but to call EVERY Filipino evangelical to humility and submission to the Scripture, the only way to increase discernment.

Leave a Reply

