Why T.V. Series “100 Days to Heaven” Promotes Bad Theology

An upcoming T.V. series from ABS-CBN quickly got my attention. 100 Days to Heaven is about a woman named Anna, who, due to a bad past, was cold and unkind towards others. Then due to a car accident, she died. She went to the gate of heaven but was not allowed to enter it. Instead, she was bound for hell. However, she was given a chance to live 100 days as a child and correct all her wrongs. Here’s the trailer:

But when we die, do we really get a chance to right our wrongs so we could enter heaven?  

The answer is a resounding no! For Hebrews 9:27 says:

27…it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment. (Emphasis added)

When we die, it’s either we go to heaven or to hell. The Bible does not give us any indication of a purgatory or of another chance to be saved.

So, we only have this life to “right our wrongs.” It’s either we settle our wrongs at the cross, where God’s wrath was poured out on His Son, and where all of our wrongs—past, present, and future—were ultimately settled by Jesus. And by believing in Jesus, we will be saved (John 3:16). Or we settle our wrongs in hell.

In light of these, and if the trailer accurately reflects the whole plot of the T.V. series, 100 Days to Heaven promotes bad theology. Even if the series were only made for entertainment’s sake, it is undeniably teaching some form of theology. Sadly, a messy one.

Note: The main character, the old Anna Manalastas, is played by the veteran actress and known evangelical Coney Reyes. I wonder. Did she consider the theology behind the story?

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

12 responses to “Why T.V. Series “100 Days to Heaven” Promotes Bad Theology”

  1. j. lozano says :

    My mom hates this show haha

  2. Kevin says :

    Bro,

    1) I haven’t watched the program and I am not really interested to do so. Haha.

    Anyway,

    2)Quite frankly, I don’t know if Coney has considered it but we need to remind ourselves that essentially, the series is simply fiction.

    3) Although I agree that it indeed presents a different/distorted theology, it not quite sure it if promotes it in the way you said it in its context. I guess it really depends on the level of comprehension and understanding of the person watching.

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Hi Kevin

      Thank you for your comment. However, I have counter-arguments:

      1. You mentioned that “we need to remind ourselves that essentially, the series is simply fiction.” But the question I’d like to ask is, “How fictional is a fiction?” Because I believe that fictions would always (if not all the time) be based on facts. Even if the series is a fiction, yet it sells the idea that one would have the chance to be saved after he dies as a fact, there would be trouble. Just look at how The Da Vince Code troubled people, evangelicals or otherwise.

      2. You also mentioned that you are “not quite sure it if promotes it in the way you said it in its context.” But one does not need to be intentional to teach something. So whether intentional or not, the series is undeniably teaching a messy theology. And that needs to be addressed.

      3. Lastly, you said that “it really depends on the level of comprehension and understanding of the person watching.” Let’s face it. Not everyone who watches the T.V. program is biblically-grounded, theologically-sound, and discerning, even if the one watching is an evangelical. This is a sad reality.

      With these in mind, a theological red-alert should be raised.

      In Christ,
      Enzo

  3. James says :

    Enzo,

    Quote:
    “The answer is a resounding no! For Hebrews 9:27 says:

    27…it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment. (Emphasis added)”

    I beg to differ but the word “judgment” doesn’t automatically mean heaven or hell. The mind of God is so incomprehensible that it is impossible for us humans to limit it to two decisions.

    Also, this show is merely a “fictional story” to provide viewers with easy-to-understand lessons in life. This is how Jesus taught the world–through easy-to-understand parables. And isn’t it safe to say that the parables told by Jesus are fictional?

    Regards,
    James

  4. Oli says :

    Dude, you really need to relax. It’s a TV show – nothing more.

  5. belle says :

    Enzo,

    I don’t know why you’re making a big deal out of this show, and i find it rather odd that you are using bible quotes just to prove your point.

    this is just an opinion and I do respect what you think about this show so I hope you’ll do so with mine, because the bible teaches us to respect each other, right?

    anyway, this show is pure fiction. how fictional is fiction? it depends on the person watching it.. sure..not all viewers are as biblically-grounded, theologically-sound, and discerning as you, but I’m sure most have their own morals and they have their God that they believe in. Let’s make things as simple as that. I must admit I’m not biblically-grounded, theologically-sound, and discerning but I have faith and that faith is what keeps me from being evil. .I know that what happened to the main character in the story will not happen to me when I die. That’s it, so I have just one lifetime to be the person God wants me to be.

    I think you’re interpreting this story too plainly that you’re missing the whole point. The show is not contradicting the bible or theology or whatever you call it in any sense. It does not imply that when you die you will have another chance to live to straighten everything you’ve done. The show teaches young kids values and morals that most adults now are failing to teach to the young ones because they have forgotten it.

    I’m sorry but I can’t help myself. If you’ll ask me or anyone, we’d rather watch a show that contradicts “theology” but teaches a lot of kids good values than listen to someone who is biblically-grounded, theologically-sound, and discerning who tells me straight to my face what a sinner I am. Well, aren’t we?

    Peace and love,
    Belle

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Hi Belle

      I’m surprised that this blog is still being read and commented even though I wrote this back in May. And I’m glad you commented. I enjoy fruitful conversations like this. I’ll make myself organized in my reply:

      1. If I appear to be making a big deal out of this show, that’s because it’s teaching something far from the truth. I quote from the Bible because it is the truth (John 17:17).

      2. Sure, the story is pure fiction. But who will tell the viewers that it is pure fiction? Who will tell them that when they die, there are no more second chances?

      3. If the show does not imply that we will have a “second chance” to straighten what we’ve done, then what does it imply at all? Isn’t it plain obvious what the show is communicating to its viewers, that we will have that “second chance”? And isn’t that “second chance” contradicting the Bible (Hebrews 9:27)?

      4. If you’d rather that someone teach you (and kids) good values than someone tell you that you are a sinner, I think there will be a problem.

      The Bible plainly tells us that we are sinners, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23). And sinners will have to be punished, “For the wages of sin is death” (Romans 6:23).

      It will be of no use if we are to possess “good values”, for “all our righteous deeds are like a polluted garment” to God (Isaiah 64:6). Our righteous deeds, our good values, are filthy rags in the eyes of God. So even if we possess good values, we still remain in our sins, deserving punishment.

      The good news is we can be saved by grace through faith in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 2:8-9), not by our “good values”. Good values are just the by-product of our faith in Jesus.

      In light of this, I’d rather that someone tell me that I’m a sinner and that I need a Savior, than someone tell me that I need to learn “good values” but not tell me that it won’t save me from my sins and therefore I’m still condemned to hell. (To make myself clear, I’m not against good values. I just want to make clear that good values WILL NOT save us from our sins and the punishment we deserve).

      In humility,
      Enzo

  6. Christian Austria says :

    Good blog, and wonderful answers thank you, i agree 100%…i came across this blog because i liked the show to be honest, except the theological aspect of it, and it kinda bothered me that it is being taught publicly whether it was intentional or not..sure the main character who dies and becomes a kid to get a second chance at heaven maybe fictional, but im sure most of the viewers know , that the theology the show expresses is far from fictional as a lot of religions teach this, its wrong but fact is,it IS being taught…so thats why we have to quote from the Bible which contain the truth…….and knowing that connie reyes is a Christian and teaches the word of God and knows the truth of salvation made me wonder how she came to agree to the project, so i searched for topics about it and what other christians thought about it too if there was one, so here i am.

    God Bless you and continue to preach the word brother, ironically the show is about ana figuring out how to complete her mission in fulfilling good works before her 100 days are up, and time is running out for her,…in real life , the world really is running out of time and we christians need to double time to spread the word and at least give them the chance of salvation if they so choose it, by the Grace of God

    Again Good job Bro and keep it up

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Thank you, Christian.

      Yes, time is running out for us. We must continually share the gospel message of the Lord Jesus, “for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12).

      And of course, men will not be given a hundred days to straighten things in their lives when they die.

      In Christ,
      Enzo

  7. mark says :

    Actually this isn’t the first time abscbn did a soap that presents a twisted theology.. remember ‘Santino’? That soap addressed Jesus Christ as ‘Bro.’ This is a straight forward blasphemy! And here again, on 100 Days, the doctrine of salvation was presented very erratically.. a lot of filipinos watch these programs and indeed, a lot were deceived..

    • Enzo Cortes says :

      Hi Mark.

      Yes, I remember “Santino”. I’d like to clarify something. Why is addressing Jesus Christ as “Bro” a blasphemy (I hope I’m right that you are referring to “Bro” as blasphemy. If not, please tell me)?

      I have my views on it (and I hope we have the same, assuming it’s biblically correct), but I’d like to hear from you.

      Thank you.

  8. Kayem says :

    Amen 🙂 Preach on!

Leave a Reply

