When the Storms of Life Hit the Servants of God

I went to a leadership conference for the youth of our church’s outreach to Payatas. I gave a short devotion and a training. I’m blessed to be helping out my brothers in Payatas. This blog is the short devotion. (I’ll be blogging on the topic of training soon)

I just came from a retreat last April 8-10. It was a wonderful experience. I facilitated a group of five college men, whom two are my disciples. We had intense discussions and meaningful fellowships.

The two disciples who were with me, Darren and Tim, decided to followed Jesus for the rest of their lives and got baptized. Another disciple, Mark Angelo, wasn’t with me in the group because he facilitated his own breakout group for the first time. I praise God for His work in the lives of my disciples.

The weekend was victorious. But just two days after the retreat concluded, the storms of life hit me. I received a failing mark in school, in which I have to appeal. I began worrying for my future, for I expect to graduate this year but don’t see it coming. For the past few days, my soul was just downcast. Then I suddenly remember to story of Elijah.

Elijah was a prophet. He predicted a famine (1 Kings 17:1), which will last for 3 years (18:1). During the famine, he drank from a brook and was fed with bread and meat by ravens (17:6). A widow even supplied him with food (17:9).

He ministered to the widow’s family and there was food everyday (17:15-16). The widow’s son died, but Elijah raised him back to life (17:26-24).

Then he challenged the prophets of Baal to a duel. All he wanted is to let the people know that the Lord is God, and that He has turned their hearts back (17:37). He won and had the prophets slaughtered (18:20-40). Finally, he predicted the end of the drought (18:41).

But Queen Jezebel heard that her prophets had been killed, and vowed to kill Elijah (19:2). And Elijah ran for his life (19:3); he just had enough (19:4).

All Elijah wanted is to see the glory of Israel return. Is there something wrong with that? And is this how the Lord rewards his servants? It seems that the Lord has forgotten Elijah, and of course, me.

But before we jump to conclusions, let’s consider this passage:

1And after six days Jesus took with him Peter and James, and John his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. 2And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light. 3And behold, there appeared to them Moses and Elijah, talking with him. (Matthew 17:1-3, emphasis added; see also Mark 9:2-4 and Luke 9:28-30)

Elijah may not have seen the glory of Israel return in his lifetime, but he saw the Glory of Israel—Jesus. Elijah’s reward was infinitely better than what he perhaps expected to receive in his lifetime.

Remember this: The people of God often forget God in the midst of the storms of life, but God never forgets His people in the midst of it.

I don’t know what will happen to me. But I hold on to His promise that never will He leave me nor forsake me. He remembers his servants! (By the way, my professor passed me on my subject. She just forgot to consider a project I submitted before)

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

