Labeedabeedoo Retreat (Rewind)

I’m dedicating this blog to all Labeedabeedoo campers.

The Labeedabeedoo retreat concluded yesterday. It was a retreat organized by Jzone U-belt and Taft for college students of U-belt and Taft schools and was held in Dreamwater Resort, Penaranda, Nueva Ecija from April 8 to 10. More than 150 people went to the retreat.

I facilitated a breakout group and handled four college men, whom two of them are my disciples. We discussed on loving God with the heart, mind, soul, and strength. Mark 12:30, the theme verse of the retreat, says, “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” The discussions were intense and meaningful.


Two of my disciples, Darren and Tim, got baptized and have committed to follow Jesus for the rest of their lives. They have been with me since last year. Now, my heart leaps in joy for these two brave young men.


Another disciple, Mark Angelo, was used by mightily by God in this retreat. Mark, or Gelo, has been with me since 2008. In the retreat, he finally facilitated his own breakout group. I’m so proud of him. My gratitude to the Lord Jesus.


I was blessed to see fellow leaders who are also facilitating their breakout groups. Nothing is more invigorating than seeing fellow workers who are committed to the same cause—the cause of spreading the gospel of Jesus Christ and the fame of His name.

Every retreat is loaded with new friendships and meaningful fellowships. Labeedabeedoo is no exception. I met new people and made new friends in the retreat. Admittedly, I couldn’t even remember all of their names (forgive me if you are a camper and I forget your name). It’s my prayer that these friendships will last and will glorify God. May I not take my new friends for granted; may I treasure them forever.


Honestly, I felt so old surrounded with younger people. In fact, most of them call me kuya (old brother). But this is God’s reminder of my responsibility to the younger generation. In his letter to Timothy, the apostle Paul said that his son in the faith treat “younger men as brothers, older women as mothers, younger women as sisters, in all purity” (1 Timothy 5:1-2).

My Prayer

Lord,

I want to thank You for three days of retreat. It was filled with God-exalting and church-edifying moments. I acknowledge that everything happened by Your amazing grace.

I pray that everyone, campers and leaders alike, will continue to grow in their love and knowledge of You. May they continue to love You with all of their heart, mind, soul, and strength. And may their love for You overflow to others.

I thank You for the four college men you have entrusted to my care in the retreat. May you bless Adriel, Darren, Khris, and Tim. May they love You with everything they have and may they not forget to devote their lives to the Scripture.

I thank You for Darren and Tim, my beloved disciples, who got baptized and have committed to follow Jesus forever. And for Mark Angelo, another beloved disciple of mine, for helping him lead his own breakout group. I really can’t help but be proud of them and praise You for your work in their lives. I’m humbled that You used me to accomplish Your work in them.

I also pray that I will not take the new friendships You have given me for granted. May these friendships continue to grow and glorify Your name. May these also reflect the design of God in friendships. Help me to treasure my friends forever.

It is so refreshing to see leaders facilitating their breakout groups, committed to the Great Commission. Honestly, to see these like-minded fellow workers brought my spirits up. This is what I need all the time—to see people who share in the same cause, the cause of spreading the gospel of Jesus Christ and the fame of Your name.

This is my prayer. Soli Deo Gloria. Amen.


Photos by Darren Soriano and Jeanne Dizon

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

