The Rewards of Giving

I’m trying to blog again in spite of a busy schedule. Anyway…

Last Monday, when I was having my quiet time, it was clear what the Lord was telling me. It was about giving.

I read 1 Chronicles 29:1-9. David had provided for the building of the temple (vv.2-5a). Then he challenged the people to give (v.5b). So “the leaders of the father’ houses”, the “leaders of the tribes”, the “commanders of thousands and of hundreds” gave their freewill offerings (v.6). Talents of gold, silver, bronze, and iron, as well as precious stones, were given (v.7-8).

But what amazes me is verse 9:

9Then the people rejoiced because they had given willingly, for with a whole heart they had offered freely to the LORD. David the king also rejoiced greatly. (Emphasis added)

The people did not rejoice because there were talents and talents of gold, silver, and bronze. No! They rejoiced because “they had given willingly,” that “with a whole heart they had offered freely to the LORD.” I realized, then, that God gives His people the grace to give. It’s Him that enables us to give willingly, to give with a whole heart. By ourselves, we cannot give to Him; it’s only by His grace!

I turned to the New Testament. Second Corinthians 9:6-7 says:

6The point is this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. 7Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. (Emphasis added)

I’m convinced that when I give “bountifully”, “not reluctantly or under compulsion”, and cheerfully, blessings will soon come.

So I made a commitment to increase my giving, because I want the rewards of joy and bounty brought by it.

You heard me right. I want those rewards. And I believe it’s not selfish. Rather, it’s expectant. I’m simply convinced that God is faithful to His promises, that He will provide the grace as I give, and that He will reward me with joy and bounty.

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

