Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris

My first finished reading of the year! From now on, I will be writing deeper-but-not-that-deep reviews of the books I’ll be reading for this year and make better recommendations.

I never thought that Joshua Harris, author of books I Kissed Dating Goodbye and Boy Meets Girl, would write Dug Down Deep. This book is a good introduction to theology. He tackles important doctrines including of God, Scripture, Jesus, atonement, salvation, sanctification, the Holy Spirit, and the church.

What I like about this book is that Harris uses personal stories on how the doctrines were weaved into his life. I find this approach appealing to the readers. It not only informs its readers but also inspires them to live out the doctrines. He writes, “Dug Down Deep is my reveling in theology in my own simple way—not too polished, sometime awkward, less than scholarly, hopefully gracious and faithful. Even though these are deep truths, I don’t pretend to be swimming in the deep end of the pool. I’m splashing in the shallow end. But if any splashing can inspire you to dive in, I will have succeeded.”1

At the start of the book, Harris writes on the importance of theology in our lives. He says, “What you believe about God’s nature—what he is like, what he wants from you, and whether or not you will answer to him—affects every part of your life. Theology matters, because if we get it wrong, then our whole life will be wrong.”2

Harris uses the passage of the Wise and Foolish Builders found in Luke 6:46-49 (NIV). The foolish man built his house on sand, but the wise man “dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock.” And we must be like the wise man, so that when the storms of life come, we will stand.

The last chapter was entitled Humble Orthodoxy. Here, Harris shows the struggle between orthodoxy and humility. “Most people want to choose between the two, but the Bible doesn’t give us that option,” he writes. “We need conviction, and we need gentleness. We need orthodoxy, and we need humility.”3

This book may not be as academic and exhaustive as other books on systematic theology do (I’m also reading Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology, a book as thick as a phonebook). But this book is a must-read for Christians who want to begin learning theology. It’s a valuable addition to your library of Christian books. I highly recommend this book to you.


1Joshua Harris, Dug Down Deep (Colorado Springs, CO: Multnomah, 2010), 34.
2Harris, Dug Down Deep, 10-11.
3Harris, Dug Down Deep, 219.

Tags: ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

One response to “Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris”

  1. Kathryn Leigh says :

    Hi, Enzo. I found your blog on the wordpress books tag page, which is a real rarity. I’m usually too caught up in reading my usual subscriptions to check out anyone new… But I’m glad I saw this post about Joshua Harris. I never would have pegged him as a theologian either. I’ve read both I Kissed Dating Goodbye and Boy Meets Girl, but I may have to track down this more serious book and check it out.

Leave a Reply

