Bible Teachers Who Influenced Me

In my speaking and writing, certain men have influenced me. Below are the five Bible teachers who made a profound impact in my teaching and life.

1. John Piper. He is my favorite Bible teacher of all. He is the founder of Desiring God, his teaching ministry that provides believers with massive amounts of resources, and the Pastor for Preaching and Vision at Bethlehem Baptist Church in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He has also authored numerous books, including Desiring God and Don’t Waste Your Life, two of my favorites from him (at least for now). His teachings on Christian Hedonism impressed upon me. His sermons/conference messages that made an impact on me are If My Words Abide in You, How Our Suffering Glorifies the Greatness of the Grace of God, and The Life of the Mind and the Love of God.

2. R. Albert Mohler, Jr. I find this man intellectual. He is the president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Mohler’s messages that gave me much insight are The Hypersocialized Generation, Getting it Right, Getting it Wrong, Getting it Fixed, Getting it Done: Learning Ministry from Apollos, and Justified by Faith Alone: Reformation Faith and Theological Humility.

3. R.C. Sproul. This man introduced me to the world of reformed theology. He is the founder and president of Ligonier Ministries and also serves as the senior minister of preaching and teaching at Saint Andrew’s in Sanford, Florida. He has written more than 70 books and I can’t wait to get my hands on one of them. Among  my favorites from his resources include his teaching series What is Reformed Theology? and his conference message at Desiring God National Conference 2010, Thinking Deeply in the Ocean of Revelation: The Bible and the Life of the Mind.

4. Francis Chan. This man is humorous but profound. He is the pastor of Cornerstone Church in Simi Valley, California (though he already left to pursue a mission). He spends much of his time speaking for high school and college students, which include Louie Giglio’s Passion Conferences. He also authored the books Crazy Love and Forgotten God. His messages Lukewarm and Lovin’ It! and his Think Hard, Stay Humble: The Life of the Mind and the Peril of Pride made a deep impression on me.

5. John MacArthur. No one beats this person when it comes to Bible exposition. He is the pastor-teacher of Grace Community Church in Sun Valley, California and the president of The Master’s College and Seminary. His resources, including many of his sermons, can be found at the Grace To You Web site, which I find helpful for my Bible studies and message preparations. He has also authored many books, including the award-winning MacArthur Study Bible, which include his personal study notes (I can’t wait to have one). And he is not afraid of controversies. I enjoyed his books A Tale of Two Sons and The Truth War.

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

