Must We Come to God Motivated by a Reward?

I finished reading John Piper’s Desiring God last December. And I am now a believer in Christian Hedonism. This blog is my first attempt to write on Christian Hedonism and hopefully echo Piper’s beliefs. Anyway…

I entitled this blog Must We Come to God Motivated by a Reward? Obviously, its a question I intend to answer and prove throughout the blog. I want to cut the suspense and answer the question as early as now. And the answer is a resounding YES.

Don’t be startled by my answer, and I understand if you do. Maybe I’m just like you when I used to believe that it will be wrong if we are motivated by the reward. But I’m not leaving you without proving from the Scripture. I’ll be using Hebrew 11:6:

And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. (emphasis added)

When we come to God, we must believe that “he rewards those who seek him.” The reward of our faith is Himself! We must be after that reward when we come to Him. We must come to Him as the Great Rewarder for our faith.

I find nothing wrong coming to God motivated by a reward if that was the case.

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

