The Year of Grace

As usual, my first blog for this year will be about the past year. I’m going to tell God’s faithfulness and goodness.

The year 2010 was a great year. But it did not start great for me. I realized, through the help of my close friends, that there are character flaws I need to deal with. It shocked me. So I decided to take a break from the campus ministry so I can find myself and find God. It lasted for two months.

It wasn’t easy. In those two months, I had to deal with myself. But in the end, it was a humbling experience, filled with learning. I thank my good friends who prayed and supported me through these times of reflection. And of course, I thank my Lord Jesus for restoring me.

The summer was filled with activities. I joined a couple of retreats, one for college students and the other for male high-schoolers. In the college retreat, I facilitated a breakout group consisting of young men coming from different schools and explained the gospel to them. In the high-school retreat, I was tasked to oversee the retreat team. I was blessed to mentor the team members.

But before the summer fun ended, I went to Baguio to help a youth group start its own fellowship gathering. I gave a short message on Galatians 2:20. There were not much preparations and there was much tension. By the grace of God, I got through that experience.


Louie Giglio and the Passion team came back to Manila on May 25. Passion Manila 2010 was more than a conference to me. It was a reminder of God’s faithfulness to me as I serve him in the campus ministry. I remembered his first visit in 2008. It was at that first conference that I realized what I wanted to do for the rest of my life—to serve God and His people. The recent conference brought back hope and energy in my service.

Then I began my 5th year of schooling, the final year. It was challenging since I’ll be doing my thesis. As I write this blog, God had been faithful for the past two trimesters. Now, I face the last trimester with much hope and faith in the good Lord. I know He will help me.

On September, another retreat was organized for college students, specifically targeting the students of schools along Taft Avenue. I got to handle another breakout group. And last month, I joined an outreach to our church’s branch in Payatas, Quezon City, and explained the gospel to a couple of guys.

My discipleship group (or Dgroup) continued to grow, spiritually and quantitatively, throughout the year. New members joined my group. Three of them were already leading in their respecting campuses and were also leading their own Dgroups. We also began searching the scriptures deeper. We did a series of studies on the book of Nehemiah. We learned from his leadership and applied it to our lives.

I witnessed the growth of the campus team. Younger leaders stepped up. Student-volunteers from other schools joined. Now, the team can reach to more campuses. And now, I am assured that God will continue His ministry even when I graduate.

If there is one lesson I would truly remember from the year 2010, it would be this: GRACE. Despite all my mistakes and short-comings, God is gracious towards me. I may have fallen into a deep pit, stuck with hopelessness. But God picked me up, restored me back into service, and even blessed me beyond imagination. Undeserving, I was graced. And I’m truly grateful and joyful to my loving Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ.

The year 2010 is the year of grace!

Photo by Sam Magsino

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

