My Inner Circle

In his book The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership, John Maxwell wrote that a leader’s potential is determined by the people closest to him. That statement made me think. Who are the people in my inner circle? Some of these people are the following (I’m writing this article to thank and appreciate the people who have made tremendous impact in my life):

Rex Tuazon. Rex is my discipler and mentor. I have been under his discipleship since late 2007. He has mentored me on areas of spirituality, ministry, and leadership. A campus missionary before, he also helped and guided me when I led the campus ministry. Much of my growth as a Christian can be attributed to this person. I am thankful to God for this great man.


Neil Valencia. I met Neil at a college retreat in 2007. He was my groupmate back then. Now, he’s one of my best friends and my co-worker in the ministry. Neil and I share the same passion of teaching the Bible to others. Sometimes, we just spend lots of hours talking on theology, sermons by our favorite preachers, ministry, leadership, and…girls. Laughs. One thing I like (and also dislike, which he knows) about him is that he always “contradict” me. Thus, it makes me reconsider my ideas and brings out the best in me.


Jon Medina. Jon is also one of my best friends. He’s a great friend, co-disciple, and ministry co-worker. We’ve been through times where our friendship has been put to test. By the grace of God, we conquered them and it made our relationship and trust with one another stronger than ever. He’s the only person in my inner circle with whom I have the deepest relationship and trust with.


Paula Silverio. Paula is one of my close female friends and also a co-worker in the ministry. Given our deep relationship with one another, she has been a constant source of comfort and encouragement in times of highs and lows. An encourager like her is so valuable in my inner circle.


Micky Elevazo. Micky is my good friend and now my leader in the campus ministry. Being a female campus missionary, she has been a great ministry co-worker. Her dedication to her calling as a missionary simply amazes me. And so I respect and support this great woman.


My Discipleship Group (Andre Go, Bennet Ang, Danver Panganiban, Mark Rabang, Mark Santos, and Ryan Esdicul). My discipleship group (or Dgroup) kept me strong in times of discouragement. They’re a great source of hope and encouragement. (I still have no group picture with my disciples! No favoritism here. I love them all!)

The people above are just some people in my inner circle that made an impact in my life. (It will take more time if i write about every person).  These great men and women have seen me at my best and at my worst. They will play a big role in my growth as a person and leader. I trust that they will make me a better Enzo.

I have surrounded myself with these people. Who is in your inner circle?

Photos by Dianne Co.

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

