Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper

In this blogsite, I’ll be recommending books, sermons, articles, etc. that I encountered starting this year. Take note that I’m not making reviews. I’m just going to recommend and leave the reviewing to you.

I just finished reading John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. I’m a big John Piper fan and I’ve been waiting for a while to get my hands on one of his books. Fortunately, a friend of mine lend one to me last January.

Don’t Waste Your Life is a book on, obviously, how to avoid a wasted life. Piper discusses topics such a boasting in the cross, magnifying Christ through death and pain, risks, making others glad in God, living to prove God is more precious than life, secular work, and missions and mercy. Though this book is profound in content, I find it an interesting read.

I enjoyed chapter 5, where Piper discussed risk and explained what “more than conquerors” meant; chapter 6, where he expounded on forgiveness; and chapter 9, where he tackled the importance of foreign missions and hometown mercy.

Tags: , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

