The Secret to Scripture Memory

One of my goals this year is to memorize scriptures. I don’t just mean to memorize chunks of a chapter, but the whole of it. So far, I memorized Psalm 19 and 23, and 1 Corinthians 13. I’m currently working on Romans 12 and I’m planning to memorize Romans 8, the Sermon of the Mount, and more psalms.

Amazingly, I find it easy to memorize chapters of the Bible. In fact, 1 Corinthians 13 took me only two days. I guess if I have nothing else to do, I can memorize this in a few minutes and even start with a new chapter.

My secret? MEDITATION! It simply means “focused thinking.” Joshua 1:8 says, “Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.” So when I am taking a bath, when I am walking alone, when I am riding on a bus, and before doing my quiet time, I recite scriptures and meditate on it.

To share my excitement in memorizing scriptures, let me give you the benefits I get from doing it:

1. It gives me instant access to God’s word without having a Bible in my hand.
2. It brings me to a fellowship with God.
3. It keeps my mind from idleness and safeguards me from evil thoughts and lies.
4. It prepares me to battle Satan’s attacks.
5. It enhances my memory.

If you are planning to begin a habit of memorizing scriptures, you might want to do the following. I find it helpful.

1. Write the scripture in a flash card. Write it on a handy piece of paper, preferably an index card. Writing it down makes you remember better. Moreover, you can easily review you reciting efforts.
2. Recite the scripture silently and aloud. Do this while doing something (multi-task) or when doing nothing at all.
3. Pray the scripture to God. His word is pleasant to His ears.

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

