A Look Back at ’09

I’m so excited in my WordPress blog. In my first blog here, I’m going to share some of my experiences last year. Enjoy reading!

I entered the year 2009 full of uncertainties. Nevertheless, it ended up a great year. It was full of excitement and emotions. I faced a lot of blessings and opportunities, as well as trials and defeats.

In January, I was asked to lead and organize a retreat for high school students. I prayed about it and gladly accepted the challenge. So in May, I led a retreat of 350 participants! The number is too big for a first-time organizer like me. Though a lot of concerns arose during the preparations and on the retreat itself, everything went well by the grace of God.

With Francis Kong and Retreat Volunteers

Let us fast-forward to the middle of the year. The Friday gathering of college students in our church known as Soulstop ceased operations. This is an attempt to “bring the church” to campuses. So our campus team started with a bi-monthly gathering called Mesh. Mesh is a gathering of college students from Taft schools (my school is included) with the aim of connecting these students to God and other people and at the same time giving them a fun and meaningful time. It was a faith-stretching moment for the team. But God helped us in this endeavor. Mesh started in July.

In September, I again led a retreat. This time, it’s for the students of my school. I learned a lot from organizing this retreat. I learned the importance of valuing relationships, loving people, and empowering leaders. I guess I’m the one who learned a lot from this retreat.

One of the blessings that I’m really grateful to God for is the group of young men under my discipleship. I’m blessed with these great guys. Their names are Andre, Gelo, Kenneth, Mark, and Ryan (I love these guys!). It’s an honor and joy to serve them and see them grow in their love and knowledge of the Lord. These guys are the greatest gift I received in 2009! And I hope to disciple and mentor more people this new year.

Now, 2009 has come to an end. I’m just excited for 2010. And I can’t wait for God to amaze me once again.

Photos by Dianne Co and Zeus Martinez

Tags:

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

Leave a Reply

