Weekly Wraps (August 15-21)

Eric Landry on the Global Leadership Summit, Tim Challies on C.J. Mahaney’s leave, John Piper on Ramadan, and et cetera.

1. The Business of the Church (Eric Landry) – Landry blogs his visit to the recent Global Leadership Summit organized by the Willow Creek Association. This is an interesting blog!

2. C.J. Mahaney and Difficult Days (Tim Challies) – Challies blogs on Mahaney’s leave of absence. So Wikileaks has invaded the Christian world. This is sad.

3. Ramadan: Praying for a Precious Sense of Emptiness (John Piper) – Piper blogs on the Ramadan. He writes: “It seems to me, therefore, that the way Jesus calls us to pray during Ramadan is that God would reveal to Muslims the emptiness of their worship. Jesus says they are not connecting with the true God. This is tragic. And it is more tragic when they think they are. Awakening to this emptiness would be a precious awakening.”

4. Where Do We Find Jesus in the Old Testament? (Joe Rigney) – Rigney blogs on “typology”. Interesting!

5. The Logic of Fearlessness (John Piper) – Piper blogs on Philippians 1:27-29. He writes: “Both your adversity and your faith in the face of adversity are gifts of God.”

6. I Love You (Lecrae feat. Chris Lee) – I was searching for Christian rap then I found this. Lecrae, one of my favorite Christian rappers, included this song in his Rehab album as a bonus. I can’t believe it’s a “love rap.” But it’s cool. Check some of the lyrics:

“All the fellas out there in the world. If your lady love God and you got a good girl. Stay wit her, pray wit her, take her on a date. Tell her you appreciate.”

7. Background (Lecrae feat. Andy Mineo a.k.a C-Lite) – Another rap from Lecrae. Check the lyrics:

“It’s evident you run the show, so let me back down. You take the leading role, and I’ll play the background…I could play the background. I could play the background. Cause I know sometimes I get in the way. So won’t You take the lead, lead, lead? So won’t You take the lead, lead, lead? And I could play the background, background. And you could take the lead…I know I’m safest when I’m in Your will, and trust Your Word. I know I’m dangerous when I trust myself, my vision blurred…”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Enzo Cortes

Enzo Cortes is the Youth Coordinator of Jzone Makati, the youth ministry of Christ's Commission Fellowship (CCF) Makati. He also speaks for various youth and young adult groups, including CCF Makati's young singles ministry, Friday Night Light. He loves to write, read books and blogs, drink coffee, and watch MMA fights.

3 responses to “Weekly Wraps (August 15-21)”

  1. Kevin says :

    Bro,

    “So Wikileaks has invaded the Christian world. This is sad.”

    Firstly, may I correct you by pointing out that Wikileaks (the organization led by journalist-activist Julian Assange) is absolutely not involved in this issue.

    Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WikiLeaks

    Second, you may be referring to the style/type of how such information was released (“leaked”), which is similar to how the aforementioned organization works. Better to omit or rephrase the first sentence I quoted from your post.

    Your Brother-in-Christ,

    Kevin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

